Mixing it up

I’m taking the liberty to mix it up today by blogging about something I love to do besides writing, and that’s cooking. Maybe I’ll set up a separate cooking blog at some point.

So, today I’m cooking from Anthony Bourdain’s “Les Halles Cookbook.” I’m making poulet roti, or as Bourdain writes, “That’s a roast chicken, numbnuts!”

Anyone who knows me knows I don’t speak like that at all. Except when I’m driving (ask my kids!). So, I was thinking about roasting this chicken all day. I thought about it during a 3-mile walk, even stopped and picked up an organic-ish chicken on my way home. I though about it while watching the World’s Cup. The roast-the-chicken thing kind of took over.

I’m not following the recipe exactly. I added sage, even though he doesn’t list it because at the store, I could have sworn he said sage, so I bought some. Also, I don’t have any white wine, so I used red, wondering if Tony (can I call him Tony?) would be mad.

While tucking in herb butter under the skin, I wondered if anyone I know actually knows Tony. It’s possible. Also, I thought about the difference between loving to cook, and having to cook. Lucky for my family the love-to-cook-part took over, even if today I’m kind of mad at them. I also worked out some lines of prose in my head for some of my projects.

God, it smells good! Time to baste the chicken.

About adinagenn

The author of three published books, a writer and a journalist, I'm still debating which format I like best...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mixing it up

  1. Cheryl says:

    Organic-ish?

Leave a Reply

