Is writing a book torture?

I get that question a lot. And, if I’m going to answer honestly, the answer is yes, it can be unless you are so blinded by enthusiasm, you can’t wait to get the words out. But like anything else, after the novelty wears off, when you’re charged with the task of writing a book, it can seem overwhelming.

So, I put the odds in my favor. I like a big glass of cold seltzer, and if my brain feels cluttered, some green tea. Next, music. I’ve set up a host of Pandora stations, with artists ranging from Regina Spektor to Mozart. Emanating from my speakers, these artists channel me, and keep me in my seat. A couple of Facebook and Gawker checks later, there I am, writing.

And if the task still seems daunting, as it sometimes does, I take on the task one section at a time. I know the outside distractions will be there waiting for me when I need a break.

About adinagenn

The author of three published books, a writer and a journalist, I'm still debating which format I like best...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is writing a book torture?

  1. Daunting? Yes. Panic-inducing? Totally. Life-consuming? For sure. But I can’t imagine myself doing anything else. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Is writing a book torture? (via adinagenn’s Blog) « Making 'Baby Grand,' the Novel: The Last Trimester

Leave a Reply

